FAQ – Rules of Racquetball

Frequently Asked Questions … Question: Can a player’s foot extend over the line when serving? Answer: Rule 3.2 states, “Neither the ball nor any part of either foot may extend beyond either line of the service zone when initiating the service motion. Stepping on, but not beyond, the line is…

Continue reading

Penalty Hinders

Without exception, the penalty hinder is the most debated call in racquetball. Perhaps this is the reason why most players and officials avoid the call and simply choose to “do it over.” Players abide by other rules religiously, while dismissing the penalty hinder as a discretionary call that is only used…

Continue reading

The Safety Zone

Today’s discussion will focus on the safety zone – the 5 foot area between the short line and the receiving line. There seems to be uncertainty by many players about the interpretation of rules as they apply to both the server and receiver. For example, during the 2014 U.S. Open…

Continue reading

Being an Effective Referee

I have heard over the years from tournament directors that one of the most difficult challenges is coordinating the referees. Some of the frustration of tournament directors comes from players that avoid this duty. Racquetball is one of the few sports that requires its players to referee matches. Sadly, many…

Continue reading

Doubles Details

The USAR National Doubles tournament is right around the corner. The Doubles in the Desert will be held again this year in Tempe, Arizona, at the Arizona State University Recreation Center. The tournament is routinely held over the week of Valentine’s Day allowing a reprieve from the colder weather. In…

Continue reading

Amending the Rules

Many players over the past couple years have asked when USA Racquetball would reinstate the 2-serve rule to coincide with the IRT. Short answer – the rule was amended on September 1, 2013. This begs the question as to how USA Racquetball makes the decision to amend the rules. The…

Continue reading

A Player’s Guide to Officiating

In preparing to play a semifinal match at the 2013 USAR National Doubles tournament, I initiated a conversation with the assigned referee before warm-ups. When I questioned her about my opponent warming up on the court without proper eyewear, she promptly noted she “was only there to keep score.” As…

Continue reading

The Screen Call

When does a court hinder result in stoppage of play? Sounds obvious, although it  depends on which set of rules are applicable. The Mile High WPRO stop held recently at the Denver Athletic Club offered divisions with three sets of rules – WPRO, CPRT and amateur. Kudos to Deb Beldring…

Continue reading